Animal Collective | 11/25/15

Image: Animal Collective Painting With press photo

Animal Collective is pleased to announce the release of their eleventh full-length album, Painting Withreleased on February 19. Today, the band share first single ‘FloriDada.’ Listen to it below.

For fifteen years Animal Collective has been rewriting the musical map, their line-up and aesthetic shifting with each astonishing release as they continue their pursuit of a new psychedelia. Their wild path has taken them from cramped concrete basement shows and forest floor singalongs to immersive installations at the Guggenheim and performances to millions on national television. So where to from here?

Dizzyingly upbeat and gloriously realized, the new album bounces and pops with an urgent, ecstatic energy, propelled by polyrhythmic beats and gurgling modular synth, with Noah Lennox and Dave Portner’s vocals gleefully falling in and out of syncopation and off-kilter harmony. 

Working as a trio, Portner (Avey Tare), Lennox (Panda Bear) and Brian Weitz (Geologist) began trading demos in early 2015, pursuing a goal of what Portner calls “really short songs: no B.S, get in, get out material…” The three met in Asheville during that spring and began exploring the songs together. Recording took place in the legendary EastWest Studios in Hollywood, home to sessions by The Beach Boys and Marvin Gaye. The album features contributions from John Cale and Colin Stetson, and was engineered by Sonny DiPerri.

The result: Painting With. Warm and personal, kaleidoscopic and high definition, concerned with art (Cubism, Dadaism, and the distorted way those artists viewed the world) and the human experience, and the meeting of both - creating something elemental, joyous, and unmistakably Animal Collective. 

Painting With will be available in standard CD, LP, and a limited deluxe edition format. The album in CD and LP formats will be available in three different covers, featuring each Animal Collective member – Avey Tare, Geologist, and Panda Bear - as painted by Brian DeGraw and displayed below. The limited deluxe edition format exclusively available via the Animal Collective and Domino stores includes a choice of one of the three covers, 180 gram heavyweight vinyl, a zoetropic 12" turntable slipmat that animates when activated in part with a strobe light, and a bonus 7” featuring two exclusive non-album tracks mailed at a later date. All pre-orders, including from iTunes, come with an instant download of "FloriDada."

Top: Painting With three different covers by Brian DeGraw featuring from left to right: Avey Tare, Geologist and Panda Bear
Bottom: Painting With limited deluxe edition featuring a choice of album cover, a sticker sheet, bonus 7", and zoetropic turntable slipmat.


Animal Collective Painting With tracklisting
1. FloriDada
2. Hocus Pocus
3. Vertical
4. Lying In The Grass
5. The Burglars
6. Natural Selection
7. Bagels In Kiev
8. On Delay
9. Spilling Guts
10. Summing The Wretch
11. Golden Gal
12. Recycling

Animal Collective photo by Hisham Akira Bharoocha / Abby Portner and face & body painted by Matt Deifer.
Animal Collective website gifmelting effect by Chris Shier