Patrick Watson | 01/25/12

Image: Patrick Watson Press Shot

Patrick Watson will be releasing his new album Adventures In Your Own Backyard on May 1st on Domino. (April 16th on Secret City in his native Canada).

Adventures... was made at home after a gruelling five-year run that saw Patrick and his band (bassist Mishka Stein, guitarist Simon Angell and drummer Robbie Kuster) tour the world in support of two critically-acclaimed and successful albums, including the Polaris award-winning Close To Paradise. During this time, Patrick also contributed to Ma Fleur, the 2007 album from The Cinematic Orchestra, co-writing and singing on a sizeable portion of the record. In Patrick’s own words, Adventures... is an effort on the band’s part to “make the kind of music we would want to listen to at home.” The album’s title is a nod to this sentiment and to the fact that it was recorded almost entirely in Watson’s apartment in Montreal, unlike his previous efforts which were sprawling recordings in both geography and arrangements.

In spite of the relatively spartan settings in which to record, Adventures... is equally as ambitious as Watson’s previous efforts and a thing of dynamic beauty. The result is an album that is still ripe with the touchstones one has come to expect from Patrick Watson and his collaborators, but permeated with a greater sense of patience and confidence. Adventures In Your Own Backyard is an attempt by Watson and the band to simplify their sights—to make music a bit more close to home in every sense of the phrase.

Adventures... will be preceded by the single and video for the sweeping, elegant “Into Giants,” which is available for preview to all below. Patrick and his band have already lined up shows before the album’s release that will include a headlining appearance at South By Southwest in Austin, Texas in March, a variety of dates across Europe this April, and support dates with Andrew Bird in the US this May:

Patrick Watson tour dates:
Wed. 03/14/12 – Sat. 03/17/12 -- Austin, TX @ SXSW
Thu. 05/03/12 -- Philadelphia PA @ Union Transfer *
Fri. 05/04/12 -- New York NY @ Beacon Theatre *
Sun. 05/06/12 -- Boston MA @ House of Blues *
Tue. 05/08/12 -- Washington DC @ The 930 Club *
Wed. 05/09/12 -- Baltimore MD @ RamsHead Live ** w/ Andrew Bird

Tracklisting is as follows:

1. Lighthouse
2. Blackwind
3. Step Out For A While
4. The Quiet Crowd
5. Into Giants
6. Morning Sheets
7. Words In The Fire
8. The Things You Do
9. Strange Crooked Road
10. Noisy Sunday
11. Adventures In Your Own Backyard
12. Swimming Pools