PORCHES ANNOUNCES NEW ALBUM 'POOL', SHARES VIDEO FOR 'HOUR', ANNOUNCES 2016 CO-HEADLINE TOUR WITH ALEX G

Porches | 11/19/15

Image: Porches - press shot photo credit Paley Fairman

Porches, the recording project of New York-based Aaron Maine, today announces the new album, Pool, set for release on February 5, 2016, via Domino. Written and recorded in his Manhattan apartment, Pool is an elegantly drawn set of gorgeous, synth-driven pop songs, expanding on and re-articulating the melancholy we’ve come to know from previous single releases on Terrible (2014’s Prism), Birdtapes (2013’s Townie Blunt Guts) and Seagreen (2014’s Leather), and a full length on Exploding in Sound (2013’s Slow Dance In The Cosmos).

Additionally, Porches today shares a video for the current single ‘Hour’, which was released digitally on October 8. Directed by Alan Del Rio Ortiz (Blood Orange, Danny Brown, St. Vincent, Petite Noir), the video stars Maine and Kline as star-crossed lovers on a night excursion. Watch the video now below.

Says Del Rio Ortiz of the clip:

"I wanted to create a simple but hallucinogenic montage dealing with a love affair that no longer exists but would never vanish. On the surface we see a young couple driving around the city and sneaking into a swimming pool. However we also see nostalgic imagery that creates a feeling of loss and illustrates a severed relationship."

Pool is Porches’ debut full-length for Domino and a major step forward for Maine —as an evolving singer/songwriter, and as a nascent producer. Written and recorded almost entirely in the Manhattan apartment he shares with his partner and collaborator, Greta Kline a.k.a Frankie Cosmos, and mixed by Chris Coady (Beach House, Grizzly Bear, Tobias Jesso Jr) in Los Angeles, Pool was influenced, in part, by settling in the city as an artist and a person. “I’m feeling like I’m in a more permanent situation than I’ve been in before,” he says. “There is something special about recording at home. It’s why it sounds the way it does. Being able to obsess over it on your own time and being in your own little cube knowing you’re surrounded by the city, being able to go so deep into it and to spend hours building it, loving it: all of that allowed me to reflect and focus on things a little closer.”

Pool is available to pre-order now on limited pressing coke bottle clear vinyl, CD, and digital download.

Pre-order: Dom Mart / iTunes 

POOL TRACKLISTING

01. Underwater

02. Braid

03. Be Apart

04. Mood

05. Hour

06. Even The Shadow

07. Pool

08. Glow

09. Car

10. Shaver

11. Shape

12. Security

Porches will be taking off on an extensive 2016 North American tour in support of Pool, starting March 9 in Washington, DC. The tour is a co-headline with label-mate Alex G, and will feature Your Friend, another fellow Domino artist, on support for all dates. Tickets to all shows will be on sale tomorrow, Friday November 20 with further international live dates to be announced soon.

PORCHES TOUR DATES

Wed Mar 9 || Washington, DC || Rock & Roll Hotel

Thurs Mar 10 || Richmond, VA || Strange Matter

Fri Mar 11 || Chapel Hill, NC || Cat’s Cradle Backroom

Sat Mar 12 || Savannah, GA || Savannah Stopover Festival

Sun Mar 13 || Orlando, FL || Backbooth

Mon Mar 14 || Tallahassee, FL || Club Downunder

Wed Mar 16 || Houston, TX || Walters

Sat Mar 19 || Dallas, TX || Spillover Music Fest

Mon Mar 21 || Denver, CO || Lost Lake

Tues Mar 22 || Salt Lake City, UT || Kilby Court

Wed Mar 23 || Boise, ID || Treefort Music Fest

Thurs Mar 24 || Portland, OR || Analog Café

Fri Mar 25 || Seattle, WA || Vera Project

Sat Mar 26 || Vancouver, BC || The Cobalt

Mon Mar 28 || San Francisco, CA || Rickshaw Stop

Tues Mar 29 || Los Angeles, CA || The Echo

Thurs Mar 31 || Santa Ana, CA || The Observatory – Constellation Room

Fri Apr 1 || San Diego, CA || Che Café

Sat Apr 2 || Phoenix, AZ || Rebel Lounge

Sun Apr 3 || Albuquerque, NM || The Co-Op

Tues Apr 5 || Omaha, NE || Slowdown

Wed Apr 6 || Minneapolis, MN || 7th St Entry

Thurs Apr 7 || Madison, WI || UW Student Union

Fri Apr 8 || Grinnell, IA || Grinnell College – Gardner Lounge

Sat Apr 9 || Chicago, IL || Bottom Lounge

Sun Apr 10 || Detroit, MI || Majestic Café

Mon Apr 11 || Toronto, ON || Horseshoe Tavern

Tues Apr 12 || Boston, MA || Middle East Downstairs

Wed Apr 13 || Brooklyn, NY || Music Hall of Williamsburg

Thurs Apr 14 || Philadelphia, PA || Union Transfer

Fri Apr 15 || New York, NY || Bowery Ballroom