PORCHES SHARE VIDEO FOR 'BE APART', ALBUM "POOL" OUT FEB 5

Porches | 01/12/16

Image: Porches - photo credit Jessica Lehrman

Porches’ new album Pool is out via Domino on February 5th, and ahead of its release, the band is pleased to share a video for its latest single, ‘Be Apart’. Premiered via Fader, ‘Be Apart’ can be viewed below now.

The video was directed by Daniel Brereton (Connan Mockasin, Django Django, Kindness, Metronomy) and was filmed outside London during a recent UK/EU tour. 

Says Maine on ‘Be Apart’:

“’Be Apart’ is sort of about moving to New York City and wanting to belong. It's about nightlife, about being taken away, losing control, longing for acceptance, and letting go. I imagine the music video portraying some sort of cult or family living in a mansion. The cult/mansion represent both what you might long to be a part of and also the sentiment of longing to be elsewhere, a part of what is outside.”

This video comes off the back of the previously released ‘Hour’ (watch HERE), which features Maine's partner and frequent collaborator, Greta Kline a.k.a Frankie Cosmos.

Next month marks the much-anticipated release of Pool, Porches’ debut full-length for Domino and a major step forward for Maine —as an evolving singer/songwriter, and as a nascent producer. Written and recorded almost entirely in his Manhattan apartment, and mixed by Chris Coady (Beach House, Grizzly Bear, Tobias Jesso Jr) in Los Angeles, Pool was influenced, in part, by settling in the city as an artist and a person. Says Maine, “there was something special about recording this album in my new home. To be surrounded by the city and in my own world at the same time. I quickly became obsessed with the energy around me, and my experience of New York - I was forced to see my music in an entirely different context.  This was challenging, but also exciting, when the songs started to sound like a true reflection of what I was feeling in my new surroundings."

Pool is available to pre-order now on limited pressing clear vinyl, CD, and digital download. 

Pre-order: Dom Mart / Bandcamp / iTunes

Porches will be taking off on an extensive 2016 North American tour, starting March 9 in Washington, DC. The tour is a co-headline with label-mate Alex G, and will feature Your Friend, another fellow Domino artist, on support for all dates. Tickets to all shows are on sale now.

PORCHES TOUR DATES

Wed Mar 9 || Washington, DC || Rock & Roll Hotel

Thurs Mar 10 || Richmond, VA || Strange Matter

Fri Mar 11 || Chapel Hill, NC || Cat’s Cradle Backroom

Sat Mar 12 || Savannah, GA || Savannah Stopover Festival

Sun Mar 13 || Orlando, FL || Backbooth

Mon Mar 14 || Tallahassee, FL || Club Downunder

Wed Mar 16 || Houston, TX || Walters

Sat Mar 19 || Dallas, TX || Spillover Music Fest

Mon Mar 21 || Denver, CO || Lost Lake

Tues Mar 22 || Salt Lake City, UT || Kilby Court

Wed Mar 23 || Boise, ID || Treefort Music Fest

Thurs Mar 24 || Portland, OR || Analog Café

Fri Mar 25 || Seattle, WA || Vera Project

Sat Mar 26 || Vancouver, BC || The Cobalt

Mon Mar 28 || San Francisco, CA || Rickshaw Stop

Tues Mar 29 || Los Angeles, CA || The Echo

Thurs Mar 31 || Santa Ana, CA || The Observatory – Constellation Room

Fri Apr 1 || San Diego, CA || Che Café

Sat Apr 2 || Phoenix, AZ || Rebel Lounge

Sun Apr 3 || Albuquerque, NM || The Co-Op

Tues Apr 5 || Omaha, NE || Slowdown

Wed Apr 6 || Minneapolis, MN || 7th St Entry

Thurs Apr 7 || Madison, WI || UW Student Union

Fri Apr 8 || Grinnell, IA || Grinnell College – Gardner Lounge

Sat Apr 9 || Chicago, IL || Bottom Lounge

Sun Apr 10 || Detroit, MI || Majestic Café

Mon Apr 11 || Toronto, ON || Horseshoe Tavern

Tues Apr 12 || Boston, MA || Middle East Downstairs

Wed Apr 13 || Brooklyn, NY || Music Hall of Williamsburg

Thurs Apr 14 || Philadelphia, PA || Union Transfer

Fri Apr 15 || New York, NY || Bowery Ballroom