Higher Authorities | 02/10/16

Image: Higher Authorities press photo

Shadowy, psychedelic adventurers, Higher Authorities, are happy to announce their forthcoming debut album, Neptune, for April 20, 2016. Listen to debut track, ‘Colour,’ below now.

Neptune, a collection of warped psychedelic dub and electronic explorations will be available on CD & digitally on April 20, 2016. The release date – 4/20, a day of huge significance in cannabis culture – is no coincidence. Neptune is proper head music, an old-fashioned headphones album where the devil is in the lo-fi details.

Produced by the Higher Authorities, the album was augmented by legendary dub producer Adrian Sherwood, who brought his mad box of sound effects to proceedings.

For Higher Authorities, visual identity is important. There is symbolism at work here, the pineapples on the album artwork possibly refer to Liverpool's wealthy merchant's houses who had pineapples on the gateposts. One of the pineapples is smoking, it all ties in. 

‘Colour’ is the first single the duo has shared from the album, and the first window into their cosmic world. 


Neptuneis available to pre-order now on CD from Domino Mart and digitally from iTunes.

Track listing:

  1. Another time, Another place         
  2. Twilight (in luminous lodge)         
  3. Colour                                                               
  4. ...and why not?                                
  5. The Clone                                         
  6. If                                                         
  7. Monocle Man                                   
  8. Abracadabra                                    
  9. Decades                                           
  10. Neptune