Lightspeed Champion | 11/04/09

Image: Lightspeed Champion close up

We are very excited to announce that Lightspeed Champion the incredible brain child of former Test Icicles guitarist Dev Hynes has returned with his second album, Life is Sweet! Nice To Meet You. The follow-up to 2008’s Falling Off the Lavender Bridge is an epic collection of twelve pop songs, two instrumental intermissions and one piano étude, set for release on Domino Records on February 16th, 2010

London’s Lightspeed Champion emerged from the ashes of Hynes’ first band, acclaimed noise rockers Test Icicles.  Under the name Lightspeed Champion – a moniker taken from a comic book character he’d created who lived in a world of mathematics – Hynes released one of 2008’s most charming debuts in Falling Off the Lavender Bridge.  Recorded in Omaha, NE, the album was an orchestral pop love letter to American country twang and boy/girl harmony sweetness, with Hynes’ lyrics referencing everything from broken relationships to teen soap opera The O.C. and more.  With rave reviews, a performance on Late Night with Conan O’Brien, and a full American tour under his belt, Lightspeed Champion picked up from his native England, seeking new inspiration, and relocated to New York City.  To say the city has never been the same since would be an understatement, and on his newest record, Life is Sweet! Nice to Meet You, Dev Hynes showcases not only his incredible ability to write a catchy-as-hell tune, but also his fine ear for brilliant arrangements, once again creating a world all of his own.

Life is Sweet! Nice to Meet You is colored by a palette that draws on baroque 60’s pop, Girl Group harmonies, classical music and even musical theatre.  As a pop culture connoisseur (Hynes has been known to launch into a Weezer cover while writing Queen-style vocal parts and naming his songs with hip-hop slang), Hynes, along with producer and mixer Ben Allen (Animal Collective, Gnarls Barkley), has assembled an eclectic grab-bag of influences: joltingly 70’s guitar and synth sounds, classical piano, Serge Gainsbourg, Greek choruses shouting reprisals, Todd Rundgren, and at least one ukelele-driven moment.  

All tracks on Life is Sweet! Nice To Meet You were written and arranged by Dev Hynes

An amazing sneak peak of the video for lead track “Marlene” can be seen here.

Praise for Lightspeed Champion

“Hynes’ poppy solo debut is packed with romantic ups and downs and love-induced nausea, making for an easy listen of well-produced, structurally sound guitar/piano folk.” – Filter

“…Pointedly melodic and lyrical…” – V Magazine

“Hynes’ moping autobiographical lyrics are balanced by his truly unusual sense of humor.” - Paste

The track listing is:

1 – Dead Head Blues                                    9 – Madame Van Damme

2 – Marlene                                                10 – Smooth Day (At The Library)

3 – There’s Nothing Underwater                   11 – Intermission 2

4 – Intermission                                         12 – Sweetheart

5 – Faculty Of Fears                                    13 – Etude Op.3 ‘Goodnight Michalek’

6 – The Big Guns Of Highsmith                    14 – Middle Of The Dark

7 – Romart                                                15 – A Bridge And A Goodbye

8 – I Don’t Want To Wake Up Alone