Georgia | 06/02/15

Image: Georgia Press Shot credit Laura Coulson

We are proud to announce the debut eponymous album by multi-instrumentalist, producer and songwriter Georgia Barnes, out August 7th, 2015. Watch a trailer for the album featuring the opening track, 'Intro', below.

Additionally, we're excited to announce that Georgia will be performing two headlining shows in New York the week her debut album comes out. Details below, with tickets to both shows on sale this coming Friday, June 5. 

Mon Aug 3 || Elvis’ Guesthouse || New York, NY (Buy tickets)
Thurs Aug 5 || Baby's All Right || Brooklyn, NY (Buy tickets)

Written, performed and produced by Barnes in its entirety and recorded in her own home-studio, Georgia is the product of two years of obsessive work, but also a young lifetime of voracious music listening.

Elements of the glacial yet hyper-melodic tone of early 00's grime, sweltering, mid-summer west London dub and ragga, sophisticated pop, first wave post-punk agitation, the formative influence of Missy Elliott and the high-concept, illuminated sound-design work of contemporary artists such as The Knife and Hudson Mohawke run through Georgiaa record that reveals new layers of intrigue and ingenuity with every listen.

Born and raised in a deeply musical household in north west London, Georgia combined music study at London's SOAS with a stint working on the counter at Rough Trade and quickly made a lot of very natural musical connections, being invited to play drums with DIY innovators such as Kwes and Kate Tempest.

Georgia herself is a warm, compelling, malleable voice as believable a sensual soul-bearer as she is raucous provocateur (as witnessed at her dynamic recent live shows at The Great Escape and supporting Hot Chip and Kelela) and a very necessary new pop star for 2015.  

Georgia will be available on CD, LP, Deluxe LP, and digitally. The Deluxe LP comes with a bonus 10”.  You can pre-order the album via Dom Mart or iTunes.  Pre-orders will feature 4 instant grats - "Intro," "Move Systems," "Be Ache" and "Digits."

Watch the video for "Move Systems" below and listen to "Be Ache."

Georgia tracklisting

  1. Intro 
  2. Kombine  
  3. Be Ache  
  4. Nothing Solutions  
  5. Hold It  
  6. Digits  
  7. Cab Ride  
  8. Tell Me About It  
  9. Move Systems  
  10. Heart Wrecking Animals  
  11. GMTL  
  12. You