Anna Calvi | RUG600

Image: Strange Weather

 Anna Calvi is to release a 5 track covers EP entitled ‘Strange Weather’, on 14th July 2014. Produced by Thomas Bartlett (The National, Antony and the Johnsons, Sam Amidon) and recorded in New York, the EP features covers of tracks by Suicide, David Bowie, FKA twigs, Connan Mockasin as well as a stunning collaboration with David Byrne on the title track, a cover of Keren Ann’s ‘Strange Weather’. The cover of Suicide’s Ghost Rider was recorded with drummer Matt Johnson (Jeff Buckley), and Nico Muhly contributes string arrangements to the EP opener, a deconstructed organic reworking of FKA twigs’ ‘Papi Pacify’,

David Byrne said the following on working with Anna:

‘I’m a big fan of Anna's two records... and I caught her tour after her first record at Bowery Ballroom here in NY. ‘Epic’ I think is the word that is often used. So when Thomas Bartlett said he was going to be in the studio producing an EP of Anna doing covers I immediately agreed to join in. I was invited to suggest songs and I loved the last Keren Ann record and I thought Strange Weather had a haunting quality that might suit Anna.... so we did that, and Anna then suggested I join in on the Connan Mockasin track she'd done too.’


Image: Strange Weather

RUG600T | Domino | Out now

Add to cart: $12.00

On 180 gram heavyweight vinyl

  • 01. Papi Pacify (FKA twigs)
  • 02. 2. Iā€™m The Man, That Will Find You (Connan Mockasin) ā€“ featuring David Byrne
  • 03. Ghost Rider (Suicide)
  • 04. 4. Strange Weather (Keren Ann) ā€“ featuring David Byrne
  • 05. Lady Grinning Soul (David Bowie)

Image: Strange Weather

RUG600CD | Domino | Out now

Add to cart: $9.00

Limited Edition CD