Porches | WIG370 | Released: 02/05/16

Image: Pool cover

February 2016 marks the much-anticipated release of PoolPorches’ debut full-length for Domino and a major step forward for frontman Aaron Maine—as an evolving singer / songwriter, and as a nascent producer. Written and recorded almost entirely in the Manhattan apartment he shares with his partner and frequent collaborator, Greta Kline a.k.a Frankie CosmosPool is an elegantly drawn set of gorgeous synth-driven pop songs, and an expansive re-articulation of the melancholy we’ve come to expect from him; from the pristine harmonies of “Hour” to the undulating R&B of “Underwater” to the Auto-tuned majesty of the title track. “I feel like I naturally gravitate towards the more melancholic experiences in life,” he says, “but this time around I tried to dissect those moments and somehow extract what was so beautiful about them.” The result—recorded twice, and eventually mixed by Chris Coady (Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Grizzly Bear, Beach House, Tobias Jesso Jr.) in his Los Angeles studio—is a sophisticated and fully immersive listening experience, with Maine’s voice at its center. “I want people to feel dark, beautiful and strong when they hear this new record,” he adds, “I want them to fall in love.”

01. Underwater
02. Braid
03. Be Apart
04. Mood
05. Hour
06. Even the Shadow
07. Pool
08. Glow
09. Car
10. Shaver
11. Shape
12. Security


Image: Cover - Pool

WIGLP370 | Domino | Out now

Add to cart: $18.00

Standard version of the album on black vinyl with spot gloss detail on jacket, includes 12”x12” insert and MP3 download card.


Image: Pool cover

WIGCD370 | Domino | Out now

Add to cart: $12.00

Image: WIGMC370

WIGMC370 | Domino | Out now

Out of Stock

Limited edition cassette version of “Pool” in translucent pink shell, limited to 300 worldwide, includes MP3 download.