The Kills | DNO283

Image: Blood Pressures Packshot

The Kills - Jamie Hince and Alison Mosshart - are back with a new studio album, 'Blood Pressures', the highly anticipated follow-up to their critically acclaimed third album, Midnight Boom.

'Blood Pressures' finds The Kills with their swagger and sass intact, but with a new thoughtfulness and depth - even a tinge of wistfulness and vulnerability - to their always compelling songwriting.  As one of the most vital, striking bands recording today, The Kills' vividly unique "rock" is at once effortless, edgy and timeless.

For the sessions that became 'Blood Pressures', Jamie and Alison returned to Key Club Studios in Michigan where they reunited with 'Midnight Boom' engineers Bill Skibbe and Jessica Ruffins. Produced by Jamie Hince, the album was mixed in London by Tom Elmhirst.

With their basic sound intact - searing guitars, driving rhythms and sexually charged lyrical savvy - the 11 tracks on 'Blood Pressures' find The Kills embracing a fuller sound and becoming more adventurous in the studio, while the lyrics are honest, heartfelt and sometimes just plain heartbreaking. Departing from the sparse, angular sound of 'Midnight Boom', the duo explores complex textures on 'Blood Pressures'. There is heavier instrumentation and layered, huge-sounding harmonies. Alison and Jamie play all the instruments on the album, including piano and mellotron.


Image: Blood Pressures Packshot

CD-DNO-283 | Domino | Out now

Add to cart: $10.00
  • 01. Future Starts Slow
  • 02. Satellite
  • 03. Heart Is A Beating Drum
  • 04. Nail In My Coffin
  • 05. Wild Charms
  • 06. DNA
  • 07. Baby Says
  • 08. The Last Goodbye
  • 09. Damned If She Do
  • 10. You Don't Own The Road
  • 11. Pots and Pans

Image: Blood Pressures Packshot

LP-DNO-283 | Domino | Out now

Add to cart: $15.00

The LP comes with a download card with access to high-quality MP3 or WAV files.