The Kills | WIG289 | Released: 06/02/16

Image: ice and ash cover

Over their almost decade-and-a-half career, The Kills have released four records. Each one a restless, reckless enigmatic art statement that bristled with tension, anxiety, sex, unstudied cool and winking ennui, yet not one of them sounded like the previous one. Ash & Ice is the follow up to 2011’s critically lauded Blood Pressures and was five years in the making in part due to Jamie Hince’s five hand surgeries, which resulted in him having to re-learn how to play guitar with a permanently damaged finger. Unlike earlier albums, which have largely been written and recorded at Key Club Studio in Benton Harbor, Michigan, the bulk of the recording for Ash & Ice took place in a rented house in LA and at the world famous Electric Lady Studios in NYC.

It was during Hince’s recuperation from surgery that he first started sketching out what would become the songs for the album. To shake up the writing process, Hince booked a solo trip on the infamous Trans-Siberian Express for inspiration while Alison Mosshart, now residing in Nashville, TN, wrote some of the most affecting, poetically candid lyrics that she ever has, painting word pictures that mine the dangerous terrain between romantic obsession, prophecy and tough love. Where previous albums had an air of detachment and emotional austerity, underpinned by an uneasy self-awareness and unexpressed anger, the 13 songs on Ash & Ice are more understated, less tempestuous and more affecting because of that, exposing the kind of push-pull you feel when you find yourself in a complicated but all-consuming relationship. Ash & Ice is The Kills at their emotionally charged, arresting best. Prepare to be slayed.

01. Doing It To Death
02. Heart Of A Dog
03. Hard Habit To Break
04. Bitter Fruit
05. Days Of Why And How
06. Let It Drop
07. Hum For Your Buzz
08. Siberian Nights
09. That Love
10. Impossible Tracks
11. Black Tar
12. Echo Home
13. Whirling Eye


Image: ice and ash cover

WIGCD289 | Out now

Add to cart: $12

- Jewel case
- Includes 20 page booklet with lyrics & artwork


Image: ice and ash cover

WIGLP289 | Out now

Add to cart: $22

- Standard 2xLP version of the album
- Housed in a wide spine jacket with gold foil imprint
- Includes 2 x printed inner sleeves
- Includes MP3 download card.


Image: Mock up

WIGLP289X | Out now

Add to cart: $30

- Limited edition version of the album on 2xLP colored vinyl (blue swirl / pink swirl)
- Housed in a wide spine jacket with gold foil imprint
- Exclusive Ash & Ice lyric zine
- Includes 2 x 23”x23” fold-out posters
- Includes 2 x printed inner sleeves
- Includes MP3 download card