Steve Mason | DS027 | Released: 06/21/10

Image: boys outside packshot

"Mason has regained his trademark warmth and tenderness. [Boys Outside] offers an elegant blend [just] as soothing and stirring as those on Beta Band's debut" "8/10" - NME

"His career-best solo project has just enough pure pop ingredients in it to melt perfectly with the experimental….[Boys Outside] distinctively leaves you with that great Beta Band taste in the mouth, but still allows new grounds to explore for Mason" - Dazed

"[Boys Outside] is an unusually catchy album that packs some formidable grooves. Mason's best post-Beta Band work" "4/5" - Mojo

Having recently signed to Domino imprint Double Six, Steve Mason has announced the release of his new album, Boys Outside, on Tuesday, June 22nd 2010.

The 10-track album was produced by Richard X and Steve Mason.  Very much indicative of the fragile, stripped down, haunting sound of the album, "All Come Down" was released as a download only single in December of last year and was roundly praised for it’s beauty and simplicity drawing numerous comparisons to his early work with the Beta Band on the 3 EPs album.
Having previously recorded as both King Biscuit Time and Black Affair, both largely electronic based projects, Steve Mason enlisted the help of producer Richard X and consciously made a decision to go back to basics; the album was written entirely on acoustic guitar with many of the finished tracks stripped back to reveal his undoubted songwriting talent.


Image: boys outside packshot

CD-DS-027 | Double Six | Out now

Add to cart: $13.98
  • 01. Understand My Heart
  • 02. Am I Just A Man
  • 03. The Letter
  • 04. Yesterday
  • 05. Lost & Found
  • 06. I Let Her In
  • 07. Stress Position
  • 08. All Come Down
  • 09. Boys Outside
  • 10. Hound On My Heel

Image: boys outside packshot

LP-DS-027 | Double Six | Out now

Add to cart: $20.98

Heavy weight vinyl and glossy gatefold with 12 page booklet.
Comes with coupon to download all tracks as MP3s or WAVs for free from the Domino digital store.