The Range | WIG358 | Released: 03/25/16

Image: Potential

Potential is the new album from Brooklyn, NY producer James Hinton under his alias of The Range.

Hinton made the computer his primary instrument after falling under the spell of Baltimore club, bringing in his broader sonic influences from early ‘90s jungle, early ‘00s grime and mid ‘00s electronica to a new sonic whole. The software was the thing at home, but what excited the young producer was the network, and where he spiraled was YouTube. Potential uses as its backbone a series of vocal samples that Hinton has found in the deep corners of the site, guiding us around the hinterlands of YouTube, introducing us to unknown artists expressing themselves unfettered by the constraints of industry, lost in the infinite potential of an audience unknown.

Potential is a record steeped in histories – of its characters, of its forebears – but is startlingly new and alive: the network may be ones and zeros but the circuitry here runs on blood, still.

Deluxe LP track-listing

1. Regular
2. Copper Wire
3. Florida
4. Superimpose
5. Five Four
6. Falling Out of Phase
7. No Loss
8. Skeptical
9. Retune
10. So
11. 1804    

Strings EP tracklisting

1. The Magic
2. True Value
3. Flag
4. Naught


Image: Potential

WIGLP358X | Domino | Out now

Add to cart: $23.00

- A limited edition of 1000
- Bonus 4 track Strings 12” EP
- Includes 12”x24" fold-out poster
- Pressed on 180gram heavyweight vinyl
- MP3 download card included


Image: Potential

WIGCD358 | Domino | Out now

Add to cart: $12.00