About Group | WIG292 | Released: 07/02/13

Image: Between The Walls

"Between The Walls" captures the sound of a band 'playing' together, in both senses of the word - experimenting and trying things, being playful, as much as being a group performing as a unit together. Between The Walls is the sound of people pushing towards and pulling against one another simultaneously. It is the sound of buzzing amplifiers, sudden musical non-sequiturs, loud blasts of straight synth lines cutting through melody and structure. And it is also the sound of beautiful and odd electronic textures and brilliantly defined and deliberate drums, underpinning fragile but deliberate performances of sad songs and country ballads.

2 X CD

Image: Between The Walls

WIGCD292 | Domino | Out now

Add to cart: $14.00

During the recording session which resulted in About Group's first album for Domino,'Start And Complete', the outfit recorded a long uninterrupted improvised take. These looped pieces all come from that recording, and appear as a second bonus disc to their new album, 'Between The Walls.' The repetitions are driven by Charles Hayward's brilliant drumming, and bring to mind the loops and beats experiments of DJ Premier. Abstract textures become strangely hypnotic hooks when repeated in this way, live playing is transformed into a technicolour sample palette!

  • 01. After Video
  • 02. Walk On By
  • 03. All Is Not Lost
  • 04. Words
  • 05. Graph Paper
  • 06. Make The World Laugh
  • 07. Love Because
  • 08. Nightlife / Sinking
  • 09. Untitled
  • 10. I Never Lock That Door
  • 11. Yes
  • 12. If You Can't Love Me

Image: Between The Walls

WIGLP292 | Domino | Out now

Add to cart: $19.00