Chief | DNO253 | Released: 08/15/10

Image: modern rituals packshot

"On their debut, this shaggy quartet conjure classic West Coast folk rock like they were baptized by David Crosby and reared by the members of Love." – Rolling Stone

"Taking inspiration from 70’s melodic rock, this Santa Monica quartet’s sound is as shimmering as a Venice sunset...Modern Rituals will no doubt be an essential soundtrack to summer 2010." - Los Angeles Times

"The members of Chief have great pipes and each song on their debut LP Modern Rituals is centered on a soaring explosion of vocal euphony that could melt the heart of even the most jaded music fan." – Paste

In 2008 the four members of Chief finished school, left New York City and returned home to the west coast with their suitcases stuffed full of soaring melodies, shimmering guitars, lovelorn lyrics and heart-stopping harmonies. Their debut album, Modern Rituals, is as rich and expansive as it is personal and intricate. This is a record so teeming with joyful desperation that you’ll want to hold onto it with all your might. Modern Rituals is not only a radiant, cohesive and effortlessly captivating introduction to a formidable new band, it’s a contender for most contagious album of the year.

The band, Evan Koga (vocals/guitar), brothers Danny and Michael Fujikawa (on vocals/ guitar and drums, respectively) and Mike Moonves (bass), evoke bright and heartfelt melancholy layered with classic rhythms and guitar sounds without being nostalgic. Written and recorded in Los Angeles and produced by Grammy winner Emery Dobyns, Modern Rituals has sunshine seeping through every note. But if California is emanating from every crevasse then the resulting sound is as universal and world wearied as it gets. The album is thematic in its tales of romantic disappointments, left lovers and floundering emotions and the band’s musical touchstones include the great denimed romantics: Love, The Beach Boys, Neil Young and The Band.

Natural, timeless songwriting for times that change too quickly.


Image: modern rituals packshot

CD-DNO-253 | Domino | Out now

Add to cart: $12.98
  • 01. The Minute I Saw It
  • 02. Nothing's Wrong
  • 03. Wait For You
  • 04. This Land
  • 05. Breaking Walls
  • 06. In The Valley
  • 07. Stealing
  • 08. You Tell Me
  • 09. Summer's Day
  • 10. Irish Song
  • 11. Night And Day

Image: modern rituals packshot

LP-DNO-253 | Domino | Out now

Add to cart: $18.00

Comes with coupon inserted for you to download all tracks as MP3s or WAVs for free from the Domino digital store.