Junior Boys | DNO150 | Released: 05/03/07

Image: This Is Goodbye Special Edition

After what was already an eventful 2006 for Junior Boys... world tours, critical acclaim and enough press and internet accolades to, um... choke a horse, 2007 is shaping up to be even bigger for the Canadian duo. Consider the turn into the new year as the halfway point. In conjunction with the makers of "The Warning" and "Bug In The Bassbin," amongst many others, we present you a specially priced and gussied up version of their highly acclaimed sophomore album, So The Is Goodbye.

For this release we've gathered together a bonus disc of distinction. The only physical release of the band's excellent iTunes session from last fall's tour, plus a dizzying array of talents from the world of electronic music who bring their own personal touch to the music of Junior Boys. Carl Craig, the Detroit techno genius who needs no introduction and whose classicism is more timely than ever. His reworking of "Like A Child" is a subtle and brooding epic that is as cool and crisp as the winter nights on which it was created. Like a blast of warm air, Brit sensations Hot Chip arrive with their dreamy organic take on the popular "In The Morning." Tensnake, the solo project of Marco Niemerski of Arp Aubert shifts gears from his minimalist house converting the dreamy mid-tempo of "FM" into vibrant Martin Rushent electric dreams. The Hyperdub label out of London has been transmitting deep space futurist dub via the likes Burial. Here, label founder Kode 9 puts "Double Shadow" through a spin cycle before the textures of Marsen Jules revisit "FM," giving it a ghostly, ethereal decay that's equal parts Eno and Fennesz. Add in the previously released remixes from Morgan Geist and Alex Smoke and you've got yourself a definitive snapshot of the year that has been for Hamilton, Ontario's finest duo since Danny McManus hit Darren Flutie (yes there was another Flutie) with a 7-yard pass in the 4th quarter of the '99 Grey Cup.

2 X CD

Image: This Is Goodbye Special Edition

CD-DNO-150 | Out now

Add to cart: $12.00
  • Disc 1

  • 01. Double Shadow
  • 02. The Equalizer
  • 03. First Time
  • 04. Count Souvenirs
  • 05. In The Morning
  • 06. So This Is Goodbye
  • 07. Like A Child
  • 08. Caught In A Wave
  • 09. When No One Cares
  • 10. FM
  • Disc 2

  • 01. Like A Child (Carl Craig Remix)
  • 02. In The Morning (Hot Chip Remix)
  • 03. FM (Tensnake Remix)
  • 04. The Equalizer (Morgan Geist Remix)
  • 05. In The Morning (Alex Smoke Remix)
  • 06. Double Shadow (Kode 9 Remix)
  • 07. FM (Marsen Jules Remix)
  • 08. The Equalizer (iTunes Session)
  • 09. Under The Sun (iTunes Session)
  • 10. FM (iTunes Session)
  • 11. When No One Cares (iTunes Session)