Lightspeed Champion | DNO154 | Released: 02/05/08

Image: Falling Off The Lavendar Bridge

Falling Off The Lavender Bridge is the stunning debut album from London based Dev Hynes, aka Lightspeed Champion, released on Feburary 5th, 2008. Recorded in Omaha by Saddle Creek's resident producer, Mike Mogis, the album is a semi-acoustic country-rock folk-pop gem that bathes in Americana. Layered with ambitious instrumentation: from strings to cello, oboe, pedal steel, clarinet and flute, it's a gentler more contemplative sound; light years away from the noise-punk metal of Dev's previous act, Test Icicles.

Backed by an informal band of multi-instrumentalists Nate Walcott and Mike Mogis, the Faint's drummer Clark Baechle, and guest vocalist Emmy The Great - plus moonlighting members of Cursive and Tilly And The Wall - Dev was able to furnish his gently humorous, open-hearted songs with an unaffected warmth. The autobiographical LP - written by Dev at the age of 19 and released at 22 - takes us on an emotional journey; from infectious debut single "Galaxy Of The Lost" through the dark worlds of "Midnight Surprise" and "Devil Tricks For A Bitch." "I Could Have Done This Myself" refers humorously to embarrassing memories of losing ones virginity, whilst "Everyone I Know Is Listening To Crunk" is probably the most lovably personal - a country love song updated for our trend-saturated times. The album closes on the soul searching of "No Surprise (For Wendela)," a song written for his mother.


Image: Falling Off The Lavendar Bridge

CD-DNO-154 | Out now

Add to cart: $12.00
  • 01. Number One
  • 02. Galaxy of the Lost
  • 04. All To Shit
  • 05. Midnight Surprise
  • 06. Devil Tricks For A Bitch
  • 07. I Could Have Done This Myself
  • 08. Salty Water
  • 09. Dry Lips
  • 10. Everyone I Know Is Listening To Crunk
  • 11. Let The Bitches Die
  • 12. No Surprise (For Wendela) / Midnight Surprise

Image: Falling Off The Lavendar Bridge

LP-DNO-154 | Out now

Out of Stock