Eugene McGuinness | DNO223 | Released: 06/21/09

Image: eugene mcguinness

After The Early Learnings Of - a mini album of 8 songs - was released to great critical acclaim in 2008 on Domino’s Publishing Label Double Six, Eugene headed to the studio to make his first full album proper for Domino. The result is twelve utterly charming pop tracks, which skip between boundaries with gleeful abandon and an acidic sense of humour.

From the post-punk sturm and drang of "Fonz" to the skiffle-beat pop confections of "Rings Around Rosa" to the disarmingly beautiful 30’s-style balladeering of "Those Black And White Movies," the album veers from unabashed, starry-eyed romance to pre-coital forked-tongue come-ons via a sound that’s simultaneously cinematic and yet endearingly ramshackle.

Eugene McGuinness’ album contains knowing winks and phrases drawn from personal experience, but mostly made up scenarios full of joyous verve and unpredictability. It is a collection of songs gloriously out of time yet thoroughly modern, with one foot in reality and the other somewhere else entirely, where every silver lining has a cloud and one unexpected turn of phrase can lead you down a new musical rabbit hole.


Image: eugene mcguinness

CD-DNO-223 | Domino | Out now

Add to cart: $12.00
  • 01. Rings Around Rosa
  • 02. Fonz
  • 03. Wendy Wonders
  • 04. Moscow State Circus
  • 05. Those Old BW Movies
  • 06. Nightshift
  • 07. Atlas
  • 08. Knock Down Ginger
  • 09. Crown The Clown
  • 10. Not So Academic
  • 11. Disneyfied
  • 12. God In Space