Julia Holter | WIG306 | Released: 08/19/13

Image: Loud City Song
Order Loud City Song in any format and receive an instant MP3 download of 'In The Green Wild.

Loud City Song is the new studio recording by Los Angeles based artist Julia Holter. The album is her third full length release in as many years – following 2011’s groundbreaking debut Tragedy and last year’s follow-up, the critically lauded Ekstasis.

Her first studio album proper, Loud City Song is both a continuation and a furthering of the fiercely singular and focused vision displayed by its predecessors, taking as it does Holter’s rare gift for merging high concept, compositional prowess and experimentation with pop sensibility and applying it to a set of even more daringly beautiful arrangements and emotionally resonant songs.

The songs were coaxed out and finessed as demos in Holter’s bedroom studio and then coalesced into one thrillingly cohesive experience by Holter and co-producer Cole Marsden Grief-Neill and an ensemble of Los Angeles musicians. The result is an album of enormous ambition - taking its cues from the likes of Joni Mitchell and the poetry of Frank O’Hara but forging those inspirations into something resolutely unique

Image: Loud City Song

WIGCD306 | Domino | Out now

Add to cart: $10.00
  • 01. World
  • 02. Maxim's I
  • 03. Horns Surrounding Me
  • 04. In The Green Wild
  • 05. Hello Stranger
  • 06. Maxim's II
  • 07. He's Running Through My Eyes
  • 08. This Is a True Heart
  • 09. City Appearing

Image: Loud City Song

WIGLP306 | Domino | Out now

Add to cart: $20.00

Double Heavyweight Vinyl with 10 panel 7"x7" concertina foldout featuring illustrations and lyrics. Comes with mp3 download card.